Boys Varsity Basketball · Dan Swartz Classic Game 2 Preview: Russell Red Devils vs. Johnson Central Golden Eagles

The second game of the Dan Swartz Classic at the Bath County High School Gymnasium will be the Russell Red Devils (16th region) vs. the John Central Golden Eagles (15th region) on Thursday, December 27th at 4:45pm.

The last meeting between these 2 teams was in the Pikeville Invitational Tournament with Johnson Central winning 69-63 on December 30, 2015.

Russell, who finished 13-14 record last season, are currently 3-2 on the season. They have wins over Morgan County, Fairview, and Raceland. Their losses have come to Greenup County and West Carter.

The Red Devils, coached by Bryan Groves, are led in scoring by senior shooting guard Tristan Miller. Miller is averaging 18.2 points per game while hitting 2.4 threes a game. Charlie Jachimczuk adds 13 a game and Brady Bell adds 12.4 ppg.

Johnson Central, who finished with a 19-15 record last season and was the runner-up in the 15th regional tournament, is 3-1 on the year.

The Golden Eagles have earned wins over Jackson County, Huntington(WV), and Lawrence County. They have lost to Shelby Valley.

The Golden Eagles, coached by Tommy McKenzie, are led in scoring by senior Isaiah May’s 16.3 ppg. Jacob Rice is averaging 14.3 and Cory Vanhoose adds 14 ppg.

Below are the teams’ rosters:

32 Malakai Anderson F Jr.
23 Jared Goodman G Jr.
54 Charlie Bechtel F Jr.
3 Charlie Jachimczuk G So.
12 Brady Bell G Fr.
1 Andrew Lykins F Sr.
42 Anthony Blevins F So.
24 Tristan Miller G Jr.
31 Max Cantrell G Jr.
4 Donovan Moore G So.
11 Parker Doak G So.
0 Mason Quinn G So.
15 Griffin Downs G Fr.
33 Bradley Rose G Fr.
10 Reed Galloway G Sr.
21 Nathan Wheeler G Sr.

Johnson Central
14 Braxton Bentley G Sr.
30 John King F So.
34 Grant Bingham C Fr.
5 Connor Lemaster SF Fr.
20 Dawson Burton C Jr.
4 Isaiah May G, W So.
1 Jacob Butcher PG Fr.
00 Grant Rice PG Fr.
35 Tate Cantrell C So.
10 Jacob Rice PG Sr.
2 Brett Caudill F Jr.
15 Zach Russell PF So.
22 Mason Fairchild G Jr.
3 Josh Slone G So.
21 Gabe Ferrell SF Sr.
24 Toby Spriggs F So.
11 Bryson Hackney PG, W So.
12 Cory VanHoose F, G So.